Podcasting With Your Phone

Gabcast

I found an interesting hosted service, Gabcast, that lets you use your phone or VoIP to instantly create podcasts and then post them to your blog or website. This is probably one of the easiest ways to create a podcast. And the best of all, it is a free. Gabcast is easy to use podcasting service that operates via telephone. There is no need for any audio editing software or microphone. Recording with Gabcast is extremely easy; all you do is call a toll-free US number with your phone, put in your password and talk. Once you have completed your recording, you can add tags and publish from your phone. Subscribers to your podcast are automatically notified of new posts. Basically, you can publish podcasts to your blog in three ways: automatically through an embedded player, or posted links, or you can manually paste in the HTML code if you would rather not use the automated service. Besides posting to your blog, Gabcast service can also help you post your podcasts on Facebook and MySpace as well as audio product descriptions on eBay.

This is too cool! I can use Gabcast for publishing my podcasts on my blog and website, particularly when I am away from my computer and internet. I can also use this to conduct interviews, make recordings in the field trips, and connect with colleagues and students in conference calls.

I think Gabcast is a great podcasting tool and audioblogging platform that offers virtual communities, individuals, and schools an easy way to create and distribute audio content.

I tried out Gabcast for the past few days and like it very much. Though the sound quality is not great, it is acceptable since you are using your phone to do recording.  I think Gabcast has the best phone to podcast service I have experienced. You can store up to 200 MB with automatic RSS feeds and blog integration for free. If you are willing to pay $6 per month, you can keep your podcasts private and get 400 MB and features like hidden channels and episodes.

Well, here is my first episode on Ed Tech Talk using the Gabcast service.

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Podcasting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Podcasting With Your Phone

  1. Heather Whisenhant says:

    I have actually used this before in one of my classes. It was so helpful. Our teacher/instructor seemed to never come to class and would post his lectures online so we could get our part of the class that we missed. When it came to test day, I could re-listen to the lectures to help me study. Due to his lack of attendance, I still came out with an A because he was so helpful with the cast online. I am glad you posted this amazing blog, and I hope other teachers will somehow find it useful in their classrooms.

  2. Holly Grover says:

    I realize that technology is growing at an amazing pace, and I attempt to keep up with all of the advances. However, I have never even heard of a service like Gabcast! A service that allows the user to post podcasts from his or her phone is amazing, and extremely convenient in our fast-paced society. Also, I am pleased and shocked to learn that Gabcast is a free service! It seems as if nothing today is free- especially something so useful! I am glad I got to read this blog and learn about services like Gabcast, and I look forward to using this service in the future.

  3. Nolan Gouguet says:

    Dr.Yuen, this is a really cool feature that I have never seen before. The information age that we exist in is definelty expanding our base of knowledge at a rapid and ever increasing pace. This gabcast is a fascinating feature because it furthers the idea that all people can publish themselves and this can happen as easy as pie. No longer do we need to go through a long process of publication and filterization. Although this fitering process has it’s up side, it also has a down side in that all information is not published in an equal manner. This cell phone blogging technology is representative of the break down of a hierarchy of information that we have learned from for the past centuries. The equality of information process is changing the face of learning and education as we know it.

  4. Roxanna Mathis says:

    It is amazing at all the free software that is offered nowadays! I have never heard of Gabcast until I read this blog. I listened to the preview clip and found that it was very clear. In todays society almost everyone has a cellphone, so it would be easy for everyone to use this service. I think that it is great that you posted this blog introducing this service to all of us! I will definately be trying Gabcast out on my myspace!

  5. I have never used podcast before and it sounds complex but who would know if you ever tried. I think that it could be helpful since it involves using the phone, and affordable for everyone to use.

    If I come across this again I hope to have some experience at using this and have a chance to show some one else how to use. Although I am little hesitant about using the podcast, I still want to know how to use it someday.

  6. 看到這篇POST,讓我覺得非常酷,尤其gabcast,讓我非常surprise,我是從來沒聽過,也還沒有使用過gabcast,但是如果真如老師所介紹的這樣,那我倒要好好來試試看。
    Gabcast可以將podcast出版使用在blog和website,而且不需要任何編輯軟體或其他特殊硬體,而且是免費的,這對於老師在教學上及學生學習上提供了相當便利、實用的平台。當我們出差或不在電腦旁邊或沒有網路連線,我們也能隨時隨地透過phone,將我們的聲音檔publish在blog和website,當學生請假或課堂上沒能了解的課程,它隨時隨地透過phone就可以來收聽,而且可以重覆的聽,我想這種技術對於教育會愈來愈受歡迎。我想聲音的品質及容量如果能再提昇會更好,且能夠符合老師教學上的需求,這樣會更實用。
    上了阮老師的課,我們才了解現在教育科技進展的狀況,相形在國內教育科技的進展,可能沒有那麼快速,從老師這邊學到許多新的idea,
    新的資訊及新的技術,真的是進了寶山,如獲至寶。

  7. 看到這篇POST,讓我覺得非常酷,尤其gabcast,讓我非常surprise,我是從來沒聽過,也還沒有使用過gabcast,但是如果真如老師所介紹的這樣,那我倒要好好來試試看。
    Gabcast可以將podcast出版使用在blog和website,而且不需要任何編輯軟體或其他特殊硬體,而且是免費的,這對於老師在教學上及學生學習上提供了相當便利、實用的平台。當我們出差或不在電腦旁邊或沒有網路連線,我們也能隨時隨地透過phone,將我們的聲音檔publish在blog和website,當學生請假或課堂上沒能了解的課程,它隨時隨地透過phone就可以來收聽,而且可以重覆的聽,我想這種技術對於教育會愈來愈受歡迎。我想聲音的品質及容量如果能再提昇會更好,且能夠符合老師教學上的需求,這樣會更實用。
    上了阮老師的課,我們才了解現在教育科技進展的狀況,相形在國內教育科技的進展,可能沒有那麼快速,從老師這邊學到許多新的idea,
    新的資訊及新的技術,真的是進了寶山,如獲至寶。

  8. 林學志 says:

    老師您好
    我是高師大工教博士班學生 林學志

    最近這幾年podcasting非常的盛行,並引起教育工作者的關注,Podcasting的運用也使得教育場域更加的擴大,也促進行動學習或無所不再的學習的發展。
    不過我想教學者的本質還是在教學場域,而科技輔具的應用只是附屬,而不是教學的主體,所以相關媒體工具的使用或操作最好是非常簡易與方便的,以免造成教學者應用上的負擔。
    此工具Gabcast在操作上非常的簡便,使用者只要運用手機或是VoIP就能立即的將自己的podcasts傳送至BLOG或教學平台上,設計得非常人性化。我想往後設計者在進行媒體工具或教學場域的設計時,需要顧及教師操作的便利與方便的即時應用性,且應盡量避免複雜與繁瑣的操作程序。
    最後感謝老師的介紹,我想往後我會好好的運用此工具,也將其介紹給其他有需要教師。
    請指教 謝謝

  9. 林學志 says:

    老師您好
    我是高師大工教博士班學生 林學志

    最近這幾年podcasting非常的盛行,並引起教育工作者的關注,Podcasting的運用也使得教育場域更加的擴大,也促進行動學習或無所不再的學習的發展。
    不過我想教學者的本質還是在教學場域,而科技輔具的應用只是附屬,而不是教學的主體,所以相關媒體工具的使用或操作最好是非常簡易與方便的,以免造成教學者應用上的負擔。
    此工具Gabcast在操作上非常的簡便,使用者只要運用手機或是VoIP就能立即的將自己的podcasts傳送至BLOG或教學平台上,設計得非常人性化。我想往後設計者在進行媒體工具或教學場域的設計時,需要顧及教師操作的便利與方便的即時應用性,且應盡量避免複雜與繁瑣的操作程序。
    最後感謝老師的介紹,我想往後我會好好的運用此工具,也將其介紹給其他有需要教師。
    請指教 謝謝

  10. Donna Parker says:

    I can’t wait to try Gabcast. After reading this post, I can definitely see how useful Gabcast can be for instructors. Have you ever been at a convention when you’ve learned something new, and you are really excited about it and want to share it right away? With Gabcast, you wouldn’t have to wait until you get home to record a podcast because you don’t need extra equipment (microphone, headphones, software, computer, Internet service). You can use your phone for instant podcasting. If you are on a field trip, you could actually interview students’ reactions to particular events and create and post a podcast before returning from the field trip. This would enable other students, instructors, and parents to listen to the podcast before the students return.

    Even though the sound quality isn’t reported to be the best, the quality will probably improve over time. If you are at a convention, you can record testimonials from attendees about the convention to be posted on the host’s Web site. Just think of how easy it would be to record a podcast for your class quickly. You could close your office door, record, and post a podcast in a matter of minutes. With Gabcast being offered as a free service, instructors do not have an excuse for not podcasting. I’d like to give my students a few instructions on using Gabcast, and let them create a short podcast to introduce themselves in my online classes. Thanks for sharing this quick and easy way to podcast.

  11. keenon wynn says:

    First off let me say I am not a fan of my own voice. And it makes me ill to think about recording my own voice for someone else to use as a study guide. However, Podcast in general are a fantastic tool for communicating information.
    Now for the review; I played around with Gradcast and one similar app a little bit and found it to be adequate for the price. I do agree that the sound quality is wanting but not that bad.

    I also like the fact that this application can be used in conjunction with your cell or smart phone. This allows you get it done on fly. Can get to a computer no problem! I will have to say that I have found myself sitting somewhere, doctor’s office, city hall, airport, etc… when ideas have hit me for instruction. This would be a great opportunity to generate a podcast and post in on a SNS. In addition it would also be great way to recap a unit or exercise.

    The fact that I can access this from my cell is pretty handy. I like the mobility of anything on the go and can be done from a mobile devise.The only problem is as I mentioned before I do not like the sound of my own voice.

  12. apayne31 says:

    I was excited when I first initially read of Gabcast and immediately wanted to try the application, but was disappointed to learn that effective December 31, 2010 the site was shut down. As I am finding through my 13 years as a technology educator–no free technology service that is good is free forever. As of January 1, 2011 Gabcast is now charging for its services.

    I have used drop.io which sounded similar to the Gabcast by allowing users to call in and record themselves via telephone. However, this application allowed users to create a podcast and drop.io does not have that functionality.

    Even though you stated the sound quality was not the best with this service I still believe I would have enjoyed using the application for the convenience factor. I am disappointed that I was not able to try it.

Leave a Reply

