Podcasting Pilot Project at Southern Miss

USM Podcasting Pilot

In spring 2007, Dr. Sharon Rouse and I collaborated with the Learning Enhancement Center at USM to launch a podcasting initiative for improving student learning opportunities through the use of podcasting technology. Faculty members were invited to submit proposals detailing their ideas and plans to use podcasting in teaching and learning at USM. The project involves USM’s faculty to: 1) deliver alternative course content to students that would enhance their engagement with content and audio/video, 2) offer a richer learning environment, and 3) increase students’ podcasting use on campus. However, the ultimate goal of the project is to test podcasting technology with pilot faculty before campus wide implementation.

To help implement the project, each participating faculty member was awarded an iPod, a Belkin Recorder, as well as a MacBook to use in the pilot project. To assist faculty participates in developing podcast, they were required to attend several training sessions and roundtable discussions during the summer 2007 to prepare them to integrate podcasting in their classrooms.

The pilot project involved training on several podcasting software tools, provided understanding of how podcasting reinforces student learning, encouraged innovative thinking in roundtable discussions, offered brown bag seminars and promoted sharing podcasts project experiences. These training sessions included such topics as subscribing to podcasting, using Wimba podcasting, working with Audacity, Apple iTunes, and many others. A listserv and a podcasting blog were established to further encourage discussion among the participants.

Currently, the pilot participants are developing podcasts for their courses. Several of them have already integrated podcasts into their teaching this semester. It is expected all pilot faculty will integrate podcasting in their classrooms in Spring 2008. A student survey will be conducted next week to collect students’ feedback regarding their experience of using podcasting as a learning tool at USM.

To learn more about the Podcasting Pilot Project at Southern Miss, please visit the Web site at: http://www.usm.edu/lec/podcasting/index.html

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Podcasting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Podcasting Pilot Project at Southern Miss

  1. Roxanna Mathis says:

    I try to be present during all my classes, but having two children, during the flu season, can sometimes derail my plans of attending class.

    This fall semester my son was in the hospital for several days. By Dr. Yuen intergrating podcasting into his IT365 class it helped me alot. I was able to go to our class website and download the podcast, using itunes, then put it in my ipod and listen to the lecture. It was the equivalent of being in the class that day.

    I hope that more of the professors plan to use podcasting in their classrooms. This was the first class I have had that used it, and it is very helpful. I highly recommend it!

  2. I feel that podcasting would be great for faculty to use in classrooms because they would connect with the students. Students with hearing and learning problems would be able to have the opportunity to learn like the rest of the students.

    I believe that this is also an stress reliever for both faculty and students because students who may have trouble getting to school for a good reason will now have a good reason.

    I also believe that it would be convient for faculty to use podcasting because it would give them the chance to give others who are not able to learn like normal students the chance to learn.

  3. Lisa McBeth says:

    Podcasting is a great idea! I know that Dr. Yuen uses Podcast in It365. It is wonderful, especially when a student misses a class. All the student has to do to find out what he missed is to go to the class website and listen to the podcast. It is also helpful when a student does not quite comprehend something in a lesson, or just forgot what the instructor actually wanted on an assignment. A podcast is like hitting rewind on a remote control and listening to the class lecture all over again. I believe student’s grades would improve if podcasting was implemented by all instructors!

  4. Nicole Whiteman says:

    I think this is an excellent idea. I hate to miss classes, but when I am sick or havea nemergency I amlways weary of missing work. With the podcasts I can know exactly what happened in class. I think that the use of podcats should be encouraged in all departments here at Southern Miss.

  5. Michelle Johnson says:

    I think podcasting is a good tool for teachers to use. I took a World Literature last fall semseter and my teacher used podcasts. I missed class for a week because I was sick with a bad cold and the podcasts helped me get caught up on what was going in the classroom.
    I plan on using them in my classroom because it seems like every student has an ipod now. I think podcasts have opened up a door for teachers to share there lectures and all students can get them. Also I think it helps when trying to study. I know that when I was studying for a test in world literature I would use the podcasts to help me study.
    I think it is a great tool that every teacher should use and every student.

  6. Holly Grover says:

    I think that introducing podcasts into USM is a great idea! I’ve always wanted to bring a tape recorder to some of my lectures, but I never did because I didn’t want to stand out. Plus, I didn’t want to buy a tape recorder! If I could just access the podcasts online, it would be such a great way to re-listen to my lectures.
    However, I have to admit that if my classes offered podcasts and the instructors did not have a strict attendance policy, I would probably skip a lot more classes. I hate to say it, but I’m lazy and I love the comfort of my apartment. I would much rather listen to a lecture while sitting on my bed in pajamas than having to wake up early and listen to it in a cold classroom. 🙂

  7. Kemiaya Jackson says:

    I think the Podcasting Pilot project is a great idea! I say this because some students tend to miss days out of class for all sorts of reasons. The new project could help students be in on the lecture. The new project is also very convenient for teachers to give lecture in case they have to miss a class period. The new project would also be good for auditory learners, sometimes if I hear the lecture I will comprehend the assignments better. In IT 365 this semester, we used the new project and I thought it was very good because, I was late going to a class, so I listened to lecture and heard everything I needed for that class period.

  8. houbinfang says:

    I just had my first podcasting done month ago. So here is my opinion about podcasting. Podcasting is a term inspired by the Apple Computer Corporation’s iPod—a portable digital audio player that allows users to download music from their computer directly to the device for later listening. The term is no longer specifically related to the iPod but refers to any software and hardware combination that permits automatic downloading of audio files (most commonly in MP3 format) for listening at the user’s convenience. Unlike traditional radio or other Web-based streaming media, podcasts give listeners control over when they hear the recording. Podcasting makes use of the Internet’s Real Simple Syndication (RSS) standard. It differs from broadcasting and Webcasting in the way that content is published and transmitted via the Web. Instead of a central audio stream, podcasting sends audio content directly to an iPod or other MP3 player. It is like blog that podcasting provides a new way to share information (Educause Learning initiative, 2005).
    I think podcasting holds a lot of potential in education. Students can not only record and listen to instructors materials, but also can record their own voices and publish it to the world. This is totally different from the traditional presentation, so students to create an instructional audio or step-by-step tutorial and publish it as a podcast to share with their fellows. This is also a way of communication and a process of learning.

  9. wanda moye says:

    I love podcasts. As an educator, I have just located a lesson plan for high school students that create podcasts. We are currently working on the projects. As a graduate student podcasts are a way to review a past lecture while multi-tasking. Everyday with a busy schedule, I find podcasting a very valuable tool in accessing information when you schedule affords you more time to capture earlier information. Below is an example.

    Recently, while driving, I was listening to the “Gestalt Gardner” on Mississippi Public Radio. The host had taken a question from a caller asking about “tulipmania”. It was very interesting; I decided that I would like more information on the top. The next day, I logged onto my computer and located the site for the program. The Gestalt Gardner has a vault of past and present podcasts for his program. I downloaded the most recent program. I then edited the podcast through a software program on my home computer. The show podcast is 55 minutes long. All I needed was 4 minutes worth. After minimizing the podcast, I embedded it into a powerpoint that I used as a bell ringer for my class that week.

    The above exercise took less than one hour to complete. If the podcast was not available, I would not have remembered all the information needed to research the topic and give it back to my students in an informative and instructional manner.

    I am glad that instructors are experiencing podcast at the university. Many times a faculty member is not available for a class. Having a podcast of that lecture from a previous session mean that class can go on. Sometimes in this busy world of ours students have to miss class, with a podcast available, the student can still get the information from listening to the podcast.

  10. Andrea Howard says:

    Podcasting is great!!! As a student of Southern Miss and being able to experience podcasting and one means of distance learning, I am very grateful for the technology that allows for this. Dr. Yuen not only uses podcasting to provide access to his students who may have missed a live lecture, but he also incorporates creating podcasting in some of his assignments. Podcasting also allows for instructors to lecture materials to their students that class may not have allowed time for. The students can then subscribe to the podcasts, download the lectures to their mp3 players and listen to them on the go. If for some reason. The most wonderful thing, to me, about podcasting is that you possess the recording for as long as you allow it to remain on your mp3 player. Podcasts could be the new wave to primary and supplementary instructional delivery in any classroom whether it be K-12 or in higher education. The only drawback, in my opinion, is that not every student may be able to access podcasts due to the personal cost. School districts could afford this technology, however. The question would then be how often would teachers utilize this sort of media.

  11. fendiwanchin says:

    audacity對我的教學非常有幫忙
    現在我上課均會錄音
    以前還没有接touch 這個軟體前
    如果想給學生複習上課的操作過程
    均得回家花一樣上課時間再錄製一下
    每每到後,總是錄上疲憊不堪
    學生聽完還會反應總麼和課堂教學順序不一
    這個問題現在己經不存在了
    學生取得聲音檔,放回自己的mp3
    座校車也能聽,猶如上課的再翻版

  12. fendiwanchin says:

    audacity對我的教學非常有幫忙
    現在我上課均會錄音
    以前還没有接touch 這個軟體前
    如果想給學生複習上課的操作過程
    均得回家花一樣上課時間再錄製一下
    每每到後,總是錄上疲憊不堪
    學生聽完還會反應總麼和課堂教學順序不一
    這個問題現在己經不存在了
    學生取得聲音檔,放回自己的mp3
    座校車也能聽,猶如上課的再翻版

  13. Yam-Ming陳彥銘 says:

    Podcasting將學習行動化,無論何時何地都能將教材帶著走,而如果用心經營自己的Podcasting也能擁有固定的聽眾與支持者。

  14. Yam-Ming 陳彥銘 says:

    Podcasting將學習行動化,無論何時何地都能將教材帶著走,而如果用心經營自己的Podcasting也能擁有固定的聽眾與支持者。

Leave a Reply

