Great Web 2.0 Presentations

There is so much excitement about the New Web, most often called Web 2.0 these days. Many teachers and educators are now exploring the free Web 2.0 tools such as blogs, podcasts, wikis, photo and video sharing, social networking, podcasts, and social bookmarking in teaching and learning. I think Web 2.0 has outstanding potentials and could change the ways we teach and the ways students learn in the future.

For the past few months, I have reviewed many Web 2.0 documents and presentations and found several outstanding Web 2.0 presentations online. These presentations provide excellent overview of Web 2.0 and discuss the current development of Web 2.0 as well as the potentials of using the Web 2.0 tools in teaching and learning. So sit back and enjoy these great presentations.

 

What is Web 2.0?
by Tim O’Reilly

 

Creative Web 2.0 Learning
by Judy O’Connell

 

Web 2.0 tools for your Classroom Right NOW
by Mark Woolley

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Web 2.0. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Great Web 2.0 Presentations

  1. Clif's Notes says:

    Steve,

    I stumbled across your blog last week and I’ve enjoyed reading through it for the last several days. I put together an introduction to Web 2.0 for my students. Perhaps you’ll find it useful. http://clifsnotes.wordpress.com/2007/09/07/teaching-and-learning-in-the-20-era

  2. Michelle Johnson says:

    I really liked this webtool, and I thought it was a good tool use in my future classroom. I think it is important for me a future teacher to have the most up to date tools for my classroom. I can do so many different lessons with Web 2.O presentation. I could do a presentation on different websites that children can discover reading on or I could do lesson with social studies on it. I could use this is a slide show at the end of the school year to show the students parents what we have done in class all year. There are alot of things I could do with this webtool.

  3. Kemiaya Jackson says:

    This webtool was very helpful. I can see using this webtool to reiterate technology in my classroom. This webtool could be used as a powerpoint or just an easy to get students to become more involved with activities in the classroom. This was a very useful webtool presentation.

  4. Pingback: Excelentes apresentações sobre Web 2.0 « Web 2.0 PT

  5. Amy Thornton says:

    I found these presentations very informational, especially the one by Judy O’Connell on Creative Web 2.0 Learning. I was very interested in what she had to say about Library 2.0. When I used to work for the library here at USM, they were talking about creating an “information commons” kind of like some of the libraries that she talked about so it was interesting to see what other libraries are already doing.

    One of the responses already given to this blog gives some great resources too. The first response by Clif’s notes gives a list of Web 2.0 resources on his blog. Some of them I had already read through, but I found some that I hadn’t come across yet, so I found the list very helpful. In fact, I added this blog to my subscription list.

    The last presentation, “Web 2.0 Tools for your Classroom Right Now”, by Mark Woolley, gives a great list of benefits to using Web 2.0 tools to connect people. He does a good job of persuading someone who might not see the benefits of Web 2.0 right away that there are a lot of benefits to using Web 2.0 in your classroom.

    I think Web 2.0 is all about the users, like Tim O’Reilly talked about in his presentation, “What is Web 2.0?”. None of the Web sites that offer Web 2.0 tools would be successful unless they had a huge following of users. The users make it successful which is what makes it great. The consumer finally has control over what is being used out there.

Leave a Reply

