iPod in Education

I came across a YouTube video, iPod in Education, which gives a good overview of iPod and its use in education. The iPod in Education video is divided into two parts. I think both parts are helpful particularly for those who are new to iPods and podcasting. Part 1 covers the basic iPod operations, setting the master volume, Audiobooks, iQuiz maker, exporting quizzes to the iPod. In the Part 2, podcasts, iTunes U, adding your own video, world time, and stopwatch are discussed and demonstrated in the video.

Part 1 – iPod in Education

Part 2 – iPod in Education

 

After watching these videos, I hope you want to learn more about how iPod can be used in teaching and learning. I encourage you to read “iPod in Education: The Potential for Teaching and Learning,” a white paper published by Apple Computer, Inc.

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Podcasting, Technology Integration. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to iPod in Education

  1. Amy Thornton says:

    I learned a lot from watching the above videos. I didn’t know about the different software that I could put on my iPod. I still haven’t gotten used to watching videos and doing things on such a small screen although I imagine for younger folks it is a lot easier to get used to. I think the potential for using the iPod in education is great. I really like the idea of being able to create quizzes using the software described in the video to allow students to have a different way to student material and learn.

    As discussed in the white paper, “iPod in Education: The Potential for Teaching and Learning” the iPod has great potential for learning for teachers and professionals as well. I have found quite a few free audio and video podcasts that have I found very informational and great to help me keep with new information in my field.

    I think the barrier that K-12 schools are going to run into (as well as higher education) is not having enough money to support the technology. Not every family is going to be able to afford to purchase an iPod for their children and most schools are already strapped for money that it might be unfeasible for them to be able to provide iPods for their students. On the other side of this, many schools are moving toward trying to providing laptops for their students and iPods would be a cheaper alternative than laptops. I think students would definitely be excited about the possibilities of using iPods to further their learning. I think being able to use audio and video to present material that has previously been only presented in print could also help reach the different learning styles of different students.

  2. Christopher Tisdale says:

    I am amazed by what this small instrument like an I-Pod could do. I just got my I-Pod this past year and the only thing I know how to do is add music, but from watching the videos, I learned that I could do lots more with this device. I enjoyed the demonstration on how to create a quiz; I think this will give teachers and students another way to use technology to enhance learning.

    From reading the article I-Pod in Education: The potential for Teaching and Learning, I really think this technology will blossom in the future. I see this device helping students improve in many areas of studies. For example, within the video, he demonstrated that people can upload audio books into their I-Pods, and I really think this could be a great benefit to English teachers working with different types of literatures, which can be very difficult at times for the student to understand. With this technology, teachers can create audio files for their students to get a better understanding of the material being presented, and also may provide clips of certain parts of a video to help students get a concept of what is being taught in a lesson. For example, in a U.S. History class the teacher might be discussing the Cold War, and later provide students with different videos to give them a visual of the lesson. The students will have the opportunity to review the lesson in class and outside of class by simply listening to audio or watching a video.

    This technology is on the rise. I went to a workshop on incorporating I-Pods into the school system. The demonstrators demonstrated how the I-Pod can help students in Algebra I and Geometry. The games were interesting and kept my attention; they made learning fun. I really think I-Pods can be used for enrichment or remediation to help a student. This will also help teachers with incorporating technology into the classroom.

  3. guoqiangcui says:

    We just had one forum discussion on the mobile devices and actually I think most of us focus a lot on the mobile phones. Indeed, mobile phones are more widely used and a lot of functions and features. But I think the function of iPod can not be overlooked in the education process. To be honest, I don’t usually go around while listening to mp3 players or iPod on the way, but I do saw lots of people like listening to something while they are driving, walking, or doing exercise. So if you have the good habit, then the iPod can be one very useful tool to you. It is so small that you can carry it with you anywhere in your pocket and this provides a lot of space for the education use of the iPods. You can listen to your lecture yesterday and review what you have learned. You can also download the books to read or listen while you are waiting for someone. One of the good features is that it has enough big storage for you to store information. The usual storage of the iPod is about 160GB. It is also quite easy for you to browse to find your stuff, and you can easily handle this with one hand. As is introduced in the You Tube, you can also take quizzes to get familiar with your course content and the interfaces of test have more funs than our regular tests. There are also a lot of quality materials online which you can download into your iPod. So the iPod could also become one very essential tool in learning and this can make sure the learners can make full use of their spare time and this will make learning become funnier and easier .

  4. wanda moye says:

    Using iPods in education is just on of the ways to motivate students to become engaged and in charge of their own learning. The ibooks are a real asset for students with reading disabilities. The iquiz and iquizmaker, which are software tools for the ipod, are great assessment tools for educators. This is very exciting to me. You can read a book, take a quiz, or listen to listen to a podcast while sitting under a tree in your local park. Such tools expand students learning and promote Life Long Learning. It shows students that new gadgets are not just for entertaining.

    Imagine an archeologist student on location in Egypt for the summer who needs a english literature class from his/her university from the United States. The use of the iPod for the classroom is phenomenal. It is important to teach these skills to our young people as early as possible. Digital Natives master such devices with ease. Using such tools in elementary classes makes them more proficient by the time they reach college.

    Not allowing such tools to be used in school because of the fear that all students will down load music is not responsible. Would you not teach physics because it is a subject that is above the level of understanding for the average child? No, is the answer. We provide tools and experiences for students to enrich their lives. This is a tool made to enrich our lives. Not just the student but the educator as well. This is assume and exciting technology.

  5. keenon wynn says:

    I do agree that use of an iPods in the classroom is a great interest motivator. There is question I am forced to bring up. Will all due respect to the iPod nation wouldn’t an iPod in the classroom be little more that a jump drive with super human strength? This not to say that is does not have a place. Of course I might just be over thinking the issue.

    I do know the application that an iPod would make available but I feel the flow of information would be one way. I think the quiz/test application is a great tool but would be without instructional monitoring? I am sure that iPods have a place in education I am just not sure how to make the best use of the technology available.

    Money may also be an issue. Maybe not for college level or even some high school students but it may for k-12. Also I am a little hesitant to entrust a couple hundred dollars to a 2nd grader. My concern is not the lack of ability to use the devise but care and maintenance. Or even keeping the devise from sprouting lakes and walking off with a friend..

  6. Hope Drummonds says:

    Both of the videos were very informative and offered a lot of info on the use of iPods. I don’t personally own an iPod. But after viewing the info presented in the videos I am considering purchasing one. Even though I don’t own an iPod I’m almost positive that a majority of school aged childern have one. So I feel that the use of an iPod in the classroom would be a definite form of motivation for students. Being that these students are digital natives they will easily catch on to using the tool, which will keep them engaged in the learning process. The various tools offered will not only benefit students but educators can also benefit from its use.

Leave a Reply

