Online Slideshows

I have introduced SlideShare and ShowBeyond for creating online multimedia slideshows in my previous posts. For the past few weeks, I found several other Web 2.0 applications for creating slideshows which I think they deserve my attention.  They are:

  • Animoto – A web application that automatically generates professionally produced videos using their own patent-pending technology and high-end motion design. Each video is a fully customized orchestration of user-selected images and music.
Animoto

    • MyPlick – Like Slideshare, MyPlick allows users to create slideshows and offer an interactive widget for viewers. Images, PowerPoint presentations, and PDF files can be uploaded to create your slideshow. You can add audio narration or music to your slideshow. Also, you can add notes for each slide to provide additional information to viewers.
    MyPlick

    • Slide – A great tool to express yourself and tell stories through personalized photos and videos created on Slide.com and viewed anywhere on the Web.
    Slide

    • SlideRocket – A web application that provides users to design professional quality presentations, manage and share libraries of slides and assets, and to deliver presentations in person or remotely over the web.
    SlideRocket

    About Steve Yuen

    I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
    This entry was posted in Software Tools, Web 2.0 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    6 Responses to Online Slideshows

    1. Andrea Howard says:

      Online slideshows are brilliant resources that anyone may use to display and view any multimedia project of choice. Before enrolling in IT 780, I was only familiar with slideshows that allowed you to upload photos on the internet which serve as a virtual photo album that others may view and preserve a person’s personal photos without the threat of them being destroyed. As time passes, the photos remain in the same condition as their original state. Being a Hurricane Katrina survivor who has lost almost every photo of my childhood and adulthood taken before the storm, photos mean more to me now than they ever have in the past. I now upload all of my digital photos to the Internet for immediate access when needed.

      IT 780 has introduced me to a whole new world of online slideshows. I think it is wonderful that an instructor is able and willing to upload lectures of any topic of discussion for instant access by the students. In doing so, I have become less dependent on hard copy of lecture notes for this course. Online slideshows of instructor lectures also cuts down on paper usage during the course of semesters.

    2. guoqiangcui says:

      After viewing all these online multi-media slideshows, I have more confidence in the full success of online learning. All the tools introduced by Dr. Yuen can play a great important roll in the distance learning and they provide readers many different ways to get access to the online teaching access. The online teaching materials will not only be limited to the text. The students and readers can get access to various kinds of materials, such as images, audios, videos and some other multimedia materials.

      I think some of the applications are designed for some specific purposes. In Animoto, you can upload many images and some music, and then you can combine them together and finalize your video. This kind of application can make the presentation more animated and gives the readers a dynamic feeling of the presentation. I think this feature can greatly attract young people and they can never feel bored during the presentation. The registering process is pretty simple, which will only take one minute.

      Personally I think the Myplick is quite similar to SlideShare. You can upload many various kinds of pictures or images or some other slides, accompanied by your own voice or some other audios. This is quite convenient and a very good place to make your online slides. You can also choose to embed it.
      Slide is another good place to have fun. You can put your images or photos there and make your slides. One good point is that you can put a lot of colorful stickers there, with a lot of attracting and beautiful visual effects.

      I can not have the access to the Slidepocket. When I tried to click some of their official pages, there were always some mistakes. When I tried to sign up, the answer I wan given was: “Thanks for signing up! We’ll contact you when it’s time to suit up for your mission!” I don’t know whether I got it correctly.

      But all in all, I think the online presentation applications offer us a new way to conduct our online learning and they could become very useful tools in facilitating the learning.

    3. wanda moye says:

      Get a drink, and pop some popcorn! This is a great technology. A viewer can view the slideshow as often as necessary. The ease of being in a classroom, at home, or on your laptop makes it very accessible.

      A professor can assign it as a project if he/she is not available for class. A student can get view the slides if he/she missed a class. It does not matter where you are. I have a student who is in the hospital in another state. He can view it from his hospital room. It is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, how convenient.

      In class you introduced us to SlideShare, I viewed it as easy to operate and allowing the designer with some creativity. This is important for me. However, some of other packages seemed to be more canned, with pre designed themes and selections. There is a large market for this type of package, many teachers will use it if they do not have to be an techno-genie. Even me, myself, on days when I am pressed for time, I will use the customized software over the one that allows you to be more creative.

      Choices, choices, I love choices! That is what is so wonderful about having more than one product to choose from. There is something for everyone on the web. Creating your slideshow and storing it on the web will help save time eventually. It will also help students view the information as many times as necessary. This learning strategy does not infringe upon the rest of the class. A student is free to experience the lesson while having an afternoon snack.

    4. davidsmora says:

      It is no secret that I enjoy creating online slideshows. After learning about several of these sites (e.g. Animoto, ShowBeyond and Slide) in Dr. Yuen’s classes (IT569: Multimedia Design and Development and IT644: Advanced Hypermedia Design), I’m pretty much hooked on this technology. In particular, I enjoy manipulating images, creating unique transitions/sequences and syncing my slideshows to music tracks. It is my belief that this technology enables users to express their creativity in a quick and easy manner.

      A few weeks ago, I was introduced to Animoto. This application allows users to create unique and professional videos within minutes. One of the best features of this site is its one click remix (which allows users to regenerate their final product if they’re not completely satisfied with it). In my experience with Animoto, I believe this tool could be used in a variety of settings. For example, a college/university could use Animoto to create a series of promotional or recruitment videos. Potential students could get a sneak peek of college life through these short videos. Also, corporations could utilize this application to market their products. Car companies could provide previews (via their official sites) of their new vehicle models with smart and sleek Animoto videos. While Animoto is a great, free (for 30 seconds) resource, users should also explore several different online slideshow applications.

      As you mentioned, Slide is another excellent slideshow resource. I first experienced Slide when I joined MySpace several years ago. Slide was one of the first flash-based tools I used to create and share photo slideshows. Although I’m no longer an active user of MySpace, I still remember many of the features Slide offers. After reading this blog entry, I decided to rediscover Slide. I am definitely impressed at how this tool has evolved. For example, a user can fully customize his slideshow (e.g. choose preset/template designs, add pictures, embed music/videos and much more) and then share it with the world. Slide, like Animoto, could be used for educational (fun concept/topic reviews, digital photo presentations) as well as business and personal use.

      Overall, I think online slideshows are an extremely valuable tool. Most of these tools are free (or at least offer a free, limited version) and easy to use. I would definitely recommend these slideshow applications (Animoto, Slide and Slide) to my fellow educators, colleagues and friends.

    5. Donna Parker says:

      For creating online multimedia shows I have had the opportunity to use Slideshare. Dr. Yuen introduced Slideshare in one of his classes that I am taking in the Instructional Technology program. Slideshare was very easy to learn and fun to use. I’ll have to admit that I did have to record my audio file a couple of time to get it right or “to get the hang of it.” Once I figured out how to use the pause button to stop and regroup, the recording part fell into place easily. Dr. Yuen’s classes have been wonderful resources using free resources. Since I stumbled upon this blog, I’ll now have to experiement with Slid, SlideRocket, MyPlick, and Animoto…even their names are intriguing. I really can’t imagine one being better or easier than SlideShare. After learning SlideShare and creating one in Dr. Yuen’s class, I have been able to produce a few presentations in SlideShare for my online classes. Comments from my students have been very positive. They tell me actually hearing my voice gives them the feeling that I am talking to them. Using SlideShare is another opportunity to turn a silent dull PowerPoint presentation into a video that has audio capabilities with little frustration. As I have surfed through Dr. Yuen’s blogs, I have noticed and watched several SlideShare presentations. It’s amazing the difference a multimedia presentation can make in perceptions.

    6. Rongfei says:

      Before I got into the field of instructional technology, the way I understand educational technology was represented by individual tools such as PowerPoint presentation and projectors, because those were technology, and they were used for educational purposes. Without any doubt, slideshows were very typical technology that has widely been used in education, they actually have become omnipresent. Whether in classroom or computer labs, projectors for slideshow presentations could be seen. But although they definitely are educational technology, they have to some extent already become within the category of “traditional”. Why? Because they are one-way, they are mere delivery of information, and they could not be shared easily.

      The online sharing technology resolved this problem. Presentations could not only be “presented” to more people, rather than a certain amount of small-population audience, but also be shared and commented by every one. Those slide-sharing sites Dr. Yuen introduced processed the features of web 2.0, that is being social and interactive and emphasize on user-generated content. Important knowledge and information could be presented and brought forth to everyone how registers an account of a site like Slideshare.com, and the link could be spreaded by other web 2.0 tools such as twitter, ning, and facebook.

      I really believe this could make a change in education, as more the discussion I have made above goes. Users can browse the topic that they feel interested instead of finding information online about an academic conference and then buy an air ticket to attend a face-to-face presentation. Or, they can upload their own presentation for others to view and share. This expands the knowledge of an individual or a small group of people in a certain place – the internet made it accessible and ubiquitous.

    Leave a Reply

    