Ptable.com : The Dynamic Periodic Table

Ptable

The periodic table, provided at Ptable.com, is dynamic, letting users to see what each element does at various temperatures. The periodic table is fast and efficient. It is created in XHTML which gives the scalability and accessibility of a normal web page while looking as good as any image or Flash out there. It also offers links to PDFs in letter, legal, and A4 paper sizes as well as a large image in the PNG format.

I am impressed with this dynamic periodic table. I wish I had this site when I was a high school student taking chemistry classes. This should be a useful site for teachers and students in high schools and colleges. The periodic table is linked directly to Wikipedia that allows you to view the encyclopedia entries as small pop-ups. You can also drill down on any element’s info and view the data with color coding based on which group the element resides.

Ptable

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Software Tools, Technology Integration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ptable.com : The Dynamic Periodic Table

  1. nancysblog says:

    I really like this periodic table. I like the fact it links to Wikipedia and makes information about the different elements so available. I like the fact that it shows information about each element and includes other charts on the Wikipedia site. My question would be how accurate is the information on the Wikipedia site. I like the fact they join the two things together but I have also been a little hesitant about the accuracy of the wiki site since anyone can add to it. If I look at this from an educational standpoint, I could have students use library and internet based materials if I was concerned about the sites validity. I like the fact that when you click on the element that it opens up the other site right over it and its easy to scroll down or exit. I think the fact that it is easy to use makes it a really useful tool for students with varying degrees of computer skill. I like the fact that you can place the mouse over the element and it makes magnifies it at the top of the page.

    Once I finish my alternative route classes my year of teaching will be in the subject area of English. I look at applications like this and try to see how I could translate something like this dynamic chart to use to teach literary concepts such as hyperbole and metaphor or teach grammar in a way that would be fun to learn. I think if I had had a chart like this in high school Chemistry wouldn’t have been so bad.

  2. Shenetta Booth says:

    If I had the Online Dynamic Periodic table when I was in high school, I think I would have made better grades in biology, not that I was lacking on this subject. It was one of my favorite subjects. I did have a problem learning all the elements and their properties.

    Now, this table is interactive and fun. I can click on any element and it gives me the Wikipedia definition, the pronunciation, symbol, chemical series, the appearance (which includes a picture, this is very handy and helpful), the standard atomic weight, and etc. It even gives all the physical properties of that element, such as density, boiling point and melting point, oxidation states, atomic radius, and a lot more.

    This table gives a lot more detail that the usual science and biology books. Students will learn a lot more. If I were a biology teacher, I can see myself using this site very often. It is very informative and will keep the students informed. Not only can they learn in the classroom but also at home.

    This site offers much more, such as, downloading the table as a PDF file. There are 2 choices with PDF, letter or A4. There is an option to download it as a picture file, PNG. You can buy the poster. The best feature available is the demo version. It shows you how to select an element, how to roll over the elements, what to look for, and etc. There is a chart that lets the students see what it a gas, solid, liquid, and unknown elements. It also tells you whether or not it is metal or not. This is powerful and most teachers should use it.

  3. Houbinfang says:

    This is amazing. We are always talking about the use of technology in education, in teaching and learning. Then this is the example of the use of technology for human learning.
    As we all know that the periodic table of the chemical elements is a tabular method of displaying the chemical elements which was credited to Russian chemist Dmitri Mendeleev in 1869. Mendeleev intended the table to illustrate recurring (“periodic”) trends in the properties of the elements. The layout of the table has been refined and extended over time, as new elements have been discovered, and new theoretical models have been developed to explain chemical behavior. This is really important and basic knowledge in chemistry. So high school students need to remember this and know the relationship between the elements.
    Furthermore, students can click on any of the elements to know more about them. As Dr. Yuen said this page designed in XHTML and it looks very good to viewers. The ptable.som offers students an easy way to learn. I bet students will like it.

  4. wanda moye says:

    Where was this software when I was taking chemistry? This is an excellent tool for students and educators. It is the first time I’ve heard of it. Linking with Wikipedia that is connected to an encyclopedia gives reliability to the information. I love information that uses the dynamic drill down function to retrieve information. It allows the viewer to get as general or as detail as necessary.

    This site is better than a textbook. A textbook does not allow for individual query for information. It is evident that it took quite a while to develop such a well thought out site. I think such a site would invite you to discover more information than a general textbook could cover. Dynamic interaction between developer and receiver are great tools for learning.

    I think the developers thought of everything, the downloadable PDF file, the PNG picture file. They thought of everything. The site also identifies metals, gas, liquids, and solids. I will definitely make sure that the science teachers in my school are given the url to this site. The next project for this information is to have it downloadable in quiz form for iPods.

  5. Christopher Tisdale says:

    It is amazing how technology has made the periodic table exciting to learn. When I was in school learning the periodic table it was very boring, but now students have the option of going online and using an interactive table to learn the elements. This interactive chart also lets student test elements at different temperatures. This website is linked with Wikipedia where students can research more information related to the periodic table. This would have been a great help when I was in high school taking Accelerated Physical Science, Biology, and Chemistry. Now teachers have the option of bringing this subject matter to life. Now the teacher can move from copying the table out of a book to using a website, which incorporates technology in the classroom and which will help keep the interest and attention of the students.

    The table is very colorful and it catches the eye of the viewer. I shared this website with the 7th and 8th grade science teacher and the chemistry and physics teacher and they were excited that I shared this information with them. They are currently using this website within their classrooms.

    From exploring the website, I think this would be a great benefit to students and teachers. If students put their mouse pointers on an element, the chart shows the name of the element, but if they double click on the element, it takes them to Wikipedia, which provides them with a very detailed explanation of the element. For instance, when I clicked on the element Ti (Titanium), I was provided with the definition, examples of products that contain the element, characteristics, etc. The website also provides several different printable versions of the table, including one in PDF format.

  6. Tim Bryant says:

    To be completely honest, I skipped this one the first time around. It just didn’t look very exciting to me. I am not a big science buff. I decided to give it a try this time around, and it’s a pretty cool website. Of course the educational uses jump out at you pretty quickly, but there’s other good information that you wouldn’t expect to find, like the dangers of different elements.

    Of course as usually I dug a little too deep and found his main page at http://www.dayah.com/, he’s a good photographer as well, but I could have done without the ingrown toenail information. Hmmm…, well at least I will know where to go if I get one, so that might be useful one day as well.

    Let’s see here, gotta remember that if I get an ingrown toenail I need to go to the periodic table site… 😉 There’s just too much information on the Internet!

  7. Andrea Howard says:

    I agree with you, Dr. Yuen , in wishing I had access to something this useful while taking chemistry class. This sort of visual helps science teachers who have difficulty getting the students to understand the elements and how they apply to our everyday lives. Although I have long completed my chemistry courses, I am still fascinated to learn more about the elements. This site relieves students of having to flip through pages in a textbook to learn about the periodic table of elements.

  8. Gloria says:

    Nancy, why are you so worried about the accuracy of Wikipedia? A 2005 study found that it was more accurate than the Encyclopedia Britannica. Individual articles can vary but I’ve found that its scientific articles are some of the best out there.

  9. Wow! This is a great learning tool for anyone mastering Chemistry or other related science courses. There is so much information available at your fingertips– just on this one site! It’s various searching options, such as videos, allows you to quickly choose an element (lithium, for example), an do a quick search for all videos related to that element! I think the uniqueness of this Website isn’t necessarily in its content area, but in the wealth of information that the Website provides the learner or user, all in a couple clicks. Using technology such as this in a classroom that wouldn’t traditionally use something like this seems like it would prove to be an exciting experience for students. It’s ability to be more dynamic and flexible is appealing to net generation users, much more so than a static piece of paper, or even a Web 1.0 Website, one that a student would have very limited and minimal interaction with while completing an assignment. This Website definitely sparks some Chemistry interest and allows the student more control over his/her learning. This almost seems like a Chemistry teacher’s periodic table dream come true!

  10. jennstyron says:

    Hi Dr. Yuen,

    I really like this site! When considering the elements that I have learned in the Instructional Technology and Design program, many of these elements are included in the periodic table such as user control, ease of navigation, and visual appeal. Such elements are extremely important when building instructional tools as they ensure that the tools will be both effective and interactive increasing the probability of impacting student achievement.

    I think these types of instructional materials are very useful to both students and future instructional technologists/designers. Like you, I wish I would have had such a periodic table during my high school days! Students utilizing this table would able to drill-and-practice as well as to review areas of needed improvement. In addition, this would serve for IT/ID professionals as a model of good instructional design.

    I am also encouraged by this example because science and mathematics are currently two areas of extreme importance in our nation’s department of education. In fact, there is a large amount of federal funding dedicated to STEM initiatives (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) to assist in increasing interest in these fields and improving student achievement in these areas. This model, though created in 2008, is one way to gain/increase student interest in the subject matter.

    Awesome find! Thanks for sharing it.

  11. vivi says:

    哇~想當初我們的化學元素表還得用死背的,除了中文跟英文配的一字不差,其實連它長的什麼樣、有哪些特性、目前運用的功能…根本不知道,可是化學式子一來還是照解不誤…一分不差的還是可以考個高分!但是…心中的疑惑始終揮之不去:我根本不了解這項物質的基本特性或是我根本見都沒見過,那我學這個…可以做什麼?

    現在有了這個好用的工具以及強大的網路社群,為每一個化學元素都注入了新生命,他們命名的緣由、主要特性、目前使用範圍、使用注意事項…等等,都可以連結再連結延伸閱讀到你眼睛痠…資料還很多!這樣豐富的學習資源讓我好生羨慕!也許就如大家分享的…當初有這樣的工具,也許我的分數會更好、我會更有興趣在這個科目…。現在的學生實在很幸福!所以更強化我們要吸收更多的資訊和軟體運用,造福這些莘莘學子們!

  12. vivi says:

    哇~想當初我們的化學元素表還得用死背的,除了中文跟英文配的一字不差,其實連它長的什麼樣、有哪些特性、目前運用的功能…根本不知道,可是化學式子一來還是照解不誤…一分不差的還是可以考個高分!但是…心中的疑惑始終揮之不去:我根本不了解這項物質的基本特性或是我根本見都沒見過,那我學這個…可以做什麼?

    現在有了這個好用的工具以及強大的網路社群,為每一個化學元素都注入了新生命,他們命名的緣由、主要特性、目前使用範圍、使用注意事項…等等,都可以連結再連結延伸閱讀到你眼睛痠…資料還很多!這樣豐富的學習資源讓我好生羨慕!也許就如大家分享的…當初有這樣的工具,也許我的分數會更好、我會更有興趣在這個科目…。現在的學生實在很幸福!所以更強化我們要吸收更多的資訊和軟體運用,造福這些莘莘學子們!

Leave a Reply

