ADrive Offers 50GB of Online Storage For Free

ADrive

For those of you who are teachers and students and have limited disk space to keep all of your files (music, video, photos, documents, and other files) on your computer or server, ADrive could me your best solution.  You can access to your stored files from anywhere you have Internet access, at any time. The basic plan of ADrive gives you up to 50GB of free online storage, with the largest individual file size of 2 GB.  This is quite adequate for most teachers and students.

ADrive is very easy to use.  You do not need to install software on your computer and is a 100% web based service.  All you have to do is sign up for a new account and then login and begin uploading your files.  To upload a file, click the “Upload File” button from your “My Files” tab and launch the Java-powered file uploader.  If you do not see an upload tool, please make sure your Web browser has Java turned on.  You can upload from a single file to several directories.  Also, you can drag and drop files onto the applet to add them to the upload list or you can use the add button to browse your files.  Once the upload is complete, you can download the file or share it with other.  Sharing your file on the ADrive is a great feature.  It will move the file to your “My Shared Files” tab and a unique Web link will be generated that you can share with anyone on the internet. You simply email your students, friends, family, and colleagues the link to your ADrive shared file. All they have to do is open the link to download your shared file.

I think ADrive is an outstanding tool for teachers and students.  It is a quick and easy solution to backup your files online.  With ADrive in the classrooms, teachers and students don’t have to worry about running out of storage space on their local hard drive or go through hassle of using external storage devices.

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Software Tools, Web 2.0 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ADrive Offers 50GB of Online Storage For Free

  1. shenettab says:

    With prices of everything going up and up, it sure does help for things to be free. ADrive is a good solution to problems due to storage limitations. I have a major problem with storage. I just merged with my husband and its ridiculous how much stuff we have on our computer. He is a RN and is currently in school to get his Masters. He has so many files stored on his drive that it’s not possible to store any of my stuff on there. I am also in school getting a Master’s and I work from home some days. So storage is a big problem with the two of us.

    Now, ADrive will help me with this. I am glad that I am taking Dr. Yuen’s class in Instructional technology. He keeps up with all the latest technologies and makes time to collect the data and share with us. I am now signing up for ADrive. It’s in its beta stage, but hey it’s free.

    ADrive is an online storage and backup data center. It’s easy to sign up and secure. Security is a major plus. It’s a centralized storage vault for all types of files, such as, music, movies, papers, and more. You can store up to 50GB of data. Also, you can access from anywhere because it’s web-based.

    I have already started using it and I am going to get my husband to sign up also. I think in the future there will be more people signing up for online storage. I know I will be one that will keep this technology in mind.

  2. Tim Bryant says:

    This is a great tool, my problem is getting in the habit of using it. I thought my 4 GB flash drive was plenty of space, but I am continually moving things back and forth onto my computer. Also, I’d love to have an easy place to link files on the Internet, and this looks like it will work out perfectly for that.

    Now I need to go back and work on my site at my district and get this added to the links for teachers. We use Deep Freeze to keep a lot of our computers cleaned up, and here’s a great way for the teacher to work with their files and never have them physically on the computer – works out great for when a hard drive dies and their dying because they have saved all this information on the drive instead of backing it up to a jump drive, or now, to their ADrive.

  3. Andrea Howard says:

    I tell you, ADrive is awesome. I only ask why it has taken someone so long to develop this idea. As I become more technologically saavy, the need for more storage space is great. I have tons of music files that I transfer from one place to another, pictures, movies, and games and these expensive jump drives just aren’t cutting it anymore. Just today, I had to “unload” my jump drive to allow for space for my music for my ipod. With this storage space being accessible through the Internet, there is no excuse for anyone not to have instant access to documents or any other files. The only drawback, in my opinion, is the fact that it is accessible online. In the event a person’s Internet connection is poor, that person will not be able to access any of his or her files until the Internet access in functioning properly. Overall, I think it’s great and I will probably use it as I have a great demand for that amount of storage space now.

  4. satheesh says:

    Hi All,

    I would like to point 2 common issues out which I face with ADrive.

    1. It doesn’t support any Download managers ( or I’m not aware if there are any supported DMs available or not)

    2. Sometimes, while downloading large files ( about 500-700MB) , it fails at 90%-95% with error ” cannot find the source, File cannot be saved”

    Can somebody please give me an insight on these? Is there a solution for these issues?

    Regards

    Satheesh
    Bangalore, India

  5. Jason says:

    There is an alternative solution with very robust file transfers. Check out http://www.myotherdrive.com. They blend backup and online sharing – like Mozy and ADrive in one site.

  6. hsiuminlu says:

    這是一個很好用的服務唷!個人很喜歡,因為可以不需要接許多文件存於隨身碟,警需要告訴你的伙伴,檔案網址在這裡唷,請到這裡下載就可以,可以減少中毒的機率!但是他還是有一個缺點,無法做為HTML SERVER若是個人網頁想要分享給同學,或是作品給予學生觀看!不行!僅能請他坐完整下載後在個人電腦上觀看!是他的的限制!但是目前這樣的功能我已經很滿足了!完美!但是要注意唷!他的密碼設定第一個一定要英文字且要大寫唷!

  7. hsiuminlu says:

    這是一個很好用的服務唷!個人很喜歡,因為可以不需要接許多文件存於隨身碟,警需要告訴你的伙伴,檔案網址在這裡唷,請到這裡下載就可以,可以減少中毒的機率!但是他還是有一個缺點,無法做為HTML SERVER若是個人網頁想要分享給同學,或是作品給予學生觀看!不行!僅能請他坐完整下載後在個人電腦上觀看!是他的的限制!但是目前這樣的功能我已經很滿足了!完美!但是要注意唷!他的密碼設定第一個一定要英文字且要大寫唷!

  8. 林學志 says:

    老師您好
    我是高師大工教博士班學生 林學志

    有人說過將資料儲存在網路硬碟中,是目前最安全的儲存方式
    而網路上也有許多免費的網路空間
    (如:Gmail Storage或microsoft網路硬碟中)
    而本文中介紹的Adrive網站
    更是提供50GB的空間以供使用者運用
    且個別檔案最大可達2 GB

    現今對於媒體資料的使用與儲存態度
    我認為目前我們對儲存空間的使用方式太過於浪費
    其實人類對資源的使用態度就像病毒一樣
    會持續不斷的耗費所有的資源

    故我建議需建立良好的資料儲存觀念
    因網路將資料儲存至網路硬碟時會佔用網路頻寬
    故我建議
    網路空間中只儲存重要資料,定期更新與刪除舊檔案
    一般不常用的檔案可儲存於家用硬碟或燒錄成光碟保存
    常用的資料可存放於隨身碟中並定期進行資料備援

    以上看法與大家分享,也期待大家的指教~謝謝

  9. 林學志 says:

    老師您好
    我是高師大工教博士班學生 林學志

    有人說過將資料儲存在網路硬碟中,是目前最安全的儲存方式
    而網路上也有許多免費的網路空間
    (如:Gmail Storage或microsoft網路硬碟中)
    而本文中介紹的Adrive網站
    更是提供50GB的空間以供使用者運用
    且個別檔案最大可達2 GB

    現今對於媒體資料的使用與儲存態度
    我認為目前我們對儲存空間的使用方式太過於浪費
    其實人類對資源的使用態度就像病毒一樣
    會持續不斷的耗費所有的資源

    故我建議需建立良好的資料儲存觀念
    因網路將資料儲存至網路硬碟時會佔用網路頻寬
    故我建議
    網路空間中只儲存重要資料,定期更新與刪除舊檔案
    一般不常用的檔案可儲存於家用硬碟或燒錄成光碟保存
    常用的資料可存放於隨身碟中並定期進行資料備援

    以上看法與大家分享,也期待大家的指教~謝謝

Leave a Reply

