Jing Project

The Jing Project is a simplified or lite version of screen capture and screencasting tool from TechSmith, makers of Camtasia Studio and SnagIt. Both Camtasia Studio and SnagIT are my favorite tools for creating screen-captured instructional materials and I wrote about these tools in my blog last December. The Jing Project aims to make screen capturing and screencasting easier by providing these tools in one program. The best part of Jing is free. It is very simple to use and runs on both Windows and Mac machines. Jing allows you to capture video/screencast with good results. Unfortunately, it produces video/screencast in Flash (swf) format only. This may not be a problem for most users since the Flash file is small and is a popular format on the Web.

The concept of Jing is the always-ready program that instantly captures and shares images and video from your computer to anywhere. The Jing Project has a built in sharing function that allows you to upload your files free of charge to Screencast.com, a screencast hosting site owned and run by TechSmith. Once a video is created and uploaded to Screencast, you can get an embed code to put it in your blog or Web page. Jing users can get complimentary Screencast.com accounts with 2 GB of storage and 2 GB of bandwidth per month. You can save images and videos on your own computer. In addition, you can share your content with others by uploading to an FTP server, a network drive, Screencast.com, and Flickr account.

My experience of using Jing has been very positive. The interface is clean and simple. It is very easy to grab screenshots and videos straight from a PC or Mac, and then save them or share them on the Web. I strongly recommend the Jing Project to teachers and students who need to capture screenshots or create screencast. It is hard to beat the Jing Project particularly it is free.

MacApper.com produces a video review on the Jing Project. You can learn more about the Jing Project and see exactly how it works from MacApper.com’s video shown below.

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Software Tools and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jing Project

  1. fendiwanchin says:

    hello!
    針對 JING of screen capturing 提出fendi在製作教學媒體上的使用後感想,它容易上手,screen capture become to *.jpg ,ok,並没有使用speed上的延遲,因它需下載在自己的computer,且可針對單張錄製聲音製作簡易的標的及亮框線提醒學習者該注意那些重點,即時分享在web 2.0
    如果換成下載端由screencast.com播放,下載速度是個問題,教學畫面會有殘影,這套軟體似乎不支援stream,我想編制好的教學媒體放置在youtobe或許效果會更好

  2. fendiwanchin says:

    hello!
    針對 JING of screen capturing 提出fendi在製作教學媒體上的使用後感想,它容易上手,screen capture become to *.jpg ,ok,並没有使用speed上的延遲,因它需下載在自己的computer,且可針對單張錄製聲音製作簡易的標的及亮框線提醒學習者該注意那些重點,即時分享在web 2.0
    如果換成下載端由screencast.com播放,下載速度是個問題,教學畫面會有殘影,這套軟體似乎不支援stream,我想編制好的教學媒體放置在youtobe或許效果會更好

  3. Yam-Ming 陳彥銘 says:

    Jing Project在使用上很容易,並且能夠抓圖也能錄影,圖片能加上方框以及提醒文字,可以製成操作說明的教材,而錄製影像方面更能應用於教學,或是操作疑難排解使用。

  4. Yam-Ming 陳彥銘 says:

    Jing Project在使用上很容易,並且能夠抓圖也能錄影,圖片能加上方框以及提醒文字,可以製成操作說明的教材,而錄製影像方面更能應用於教學,或是操作疑難排解使用。

  5. Donna Parker says:

    Fortunately, I was able to purchase copies of Camtasia and SnagIt through my school. I teach several computer application classes online and in the classroom. This type of software makes it so easier to take a screen shot of certain areas of the computer screen. When I need to explain a particular topic in more detail, I will make a handout using SnagIt to capture a certain screen shot that I can easily put in a Word document and label for students. I have also used Camtasia to make short instructional videos that combine both live screen shots and audio for my students. Both of these products are easy to learn and use. However, I have learned of Jing through professional development seminars and have seen Jing demonstrated. Jing also is very easy to learn and put to immediate use. I have recommended Jing to many colleagues in various places. All that have used Jing report that they really like it and comment on how easy it is. After playing with Jing, I agree with Dr. Yuen’s statement about Jing’s interface being clean and simple. With Jing being available free of charge, I would definitely choose it over Camtasia and SnagIt. Another advantage of Jing is that it offers the ability to screen capture and produce videos in one product instead of two separate products. All of these products are easy to use and provide the students with live information. I find that a screen capture product is a necessity for instructors who teach online classes.

  6. jennstyron says:

    Hi Dr. Yuen,

    Jing is a great product for screen capturing and screencasting. I was extremely impressed when you introduced the tool to our Instructional Technology course and have found it extremely useful for faculty, staff, and personal friends who need such a tool. For example, I was working with a Director of Campus Recreation who needed to capture some short video demos he had purchased to make an interactive website for his referees. This site featured the appropriate hand gestures for ref calls as well as 30 second video clips to help the referees learn the various calls during training. Jing was an excellent tool for this particular staff member and was able to quickly and easily allow him to create these resources.

    Though for a free product Jing is amazing, I typically use Snapz Pro X which is similar to the features Jing offers. The advantages to this software is that they allow you to choose the format in which you save captures and screencasting as well as allow you to record videos over five minutes. This is a software in which I had to pay for but it was relatively cheap and have certainly gotten my “bank for the buck”.

    Another tool in which you introduced me to around the same time as Jing was Camtasia, and that software is equally amazing. I look forward to having the capability to purchase this software in the future (after my days of being a graduate student are at an end) because I believe it truly allows you to build highly effective instructional materials.

    Thanks for sharing!

  7. Dane Conrad says:

    I have used Jing off and on for the last couple of years in several different ways – pictures for step-by-step instructions, video captures for teachers, and even a combination to use with iMovie for a short instructional video that needed both. I did have to send the video off for conversion but that was easy to do with Zamzar.com. It is easy to learn how to use and I have had several teachers pick up on how to use it with just 30 minutes worth of training.

    I especially like that fact that a company that already has two commercial products for sale is also developing this product as a free tool for basic functionality and advanced functionality for a small fee. I am not a business person by any stretch of the imagination but it seems counter productive to their business goal unless they are seeking to use Jing as a test bed for new features. All the time that I have been using it, I haven’t notice that being the case.

    One of the other really good things about Jing (besides it being free) is that you can keep it running in the background available for quick activation without it consuming a bunch of computer resources. It has a relatively small footprint both as just a program on your hard drive and also as a running program along side everything else your computer is doing at any one point in time.

    During this semester, I have also stumbled upon some online resources that require no installation and simply run from a user’s browser. I am excited about trying these out and even chose one, Screenr, as my Web 2.0 tool on which I am doing my presentation.

  8. I have used Jing many times for projects during my graduate coursework requirements. Sometimes it’s amazing to me the free software that is out there, that is almost as JUST as good as the software that costs a ton of money! Jing, hands down, is one of the easiest-to-work, simplest tools for creating screencasts. Its “paid for” rival, Camtasia, may have more flexible tools, but Jing definitely has more “bang for the buck,” especially when you’re on a budget.

    In addition, Jing has ultimately limitless uses in education. From face-to-face course, hybrid, or solely online, screencasts can reach a host of learners of all styles. With the video format Jing’s final presentations are presented in, it allows the learner to stop, pause, or replay any step in which he/she needs to hear or watch again. Especially for computer teachers, I believe Jing is an excellent way to create these instructional screencasts when introducing a new software, or showing students advanced features of Photoshop tools, for example. Screencasts prove to be successful in a number of ways—perhaps to even minimize the loss of instructional time when a teacher is out due to personal/professional reasons. Simply leaving students the screencast of what was to be covered that way is usually the “next best thing” to the teacher actually being present. Also, a student who is absent, or who may have a long-term illness could keep up with classwork using screencasts created by Jing.

  9. Rongfei says:

    Jing Project was the first screen capture tool that I learned to use when I just got here. I used it in Dr. Hartsell’s IT636 instructional system design class. My experience of using this program had also been very positive. It really is a compact, easy-to-use program that could be downloaded for free.

    The most advantage of this program is its being small and being capable for both screen-capturing and recording. It’s small floating control panel allows user to capture any part of the screen at any time, whether they are chatting via the IM, or Emailing each other about a specific system problem. It could be used for simple topic instruction, especially showing some simple steps. For instance, if my dad on the other side of the earth had some problem logging into my web album and download the picture I uploaded there, I can use Jing to record the screen and then Email him the video file, which was in .swf format and was very small. Another advantage of Jing would be its ability to enable uploading. For example, after I record a video on how to construct a social networking site, I can uploaded to my account and share the link on my facebook or other professional network, so that other educators may have the chance to view it.

    The disadvantage of Jing is that it only allows 5 minutes of recording, which restricted it from being used to record large projects such as Photoshop tutorial. When I was planning my capstone project, I eventually decided to use Camtasia instead of Jing because of this shortcoming.

  10. Billy Sammons, Ph.D. says:

    In my 10+ years teaching online, I have tried myriad ways to enhance the assessment process. Some forms of technology seem to work better than others. I use a visual narrative program called Pixetell to augment my textual responses to student submissions. It takes about as long to create as does a “regular response” and students are extremely thankful. Jing and Camtasia and other screen capture programs are out there and I have used them, but you then have to upload to a server, create a background brand so you are not “selling Screencast” and the video and audio quality is not that great…

    In contrast, Pixetell is very easy to use and when you render the little movie it automatically uploads to the server…I use the Pro version and it is about $13 or so a month for unlimited use…I think it is priceless…my recent annual review went off the charts (and I did not change much of anything other than using Pixetell) and if student responses are any indication of success, then it is surely working…besides all of that, it is FUN to use…

    As for an assessment device, it is apparent that visual learners, in particular, benefit tremendously from having strengths and weaknesses pointed out to them…hearing my voice also helps diffuse the f2f void…here is an example of what I use to introduce new students to my online psych course…when you make the movie initially, you can call it something like, Visual Narrative for Class and then the students just click on it or you can embed the code right into Announcements or Discussion threads if your LMS allows for it, e.g., BB 9.1, eCollege, ANGEL, etc….

    http://pixetell.com/p00148kQf3XbmWxc9pxSZPb9bqy3VxJdaUIQyv9gz5jM4zwXq3T

    🙂

Leave a Reply

