Did You Know 4.0

I was deeply impressed with the original ‘Shift Happens‘ video created by Karl Fisch, Scott McLeod, and Jeff Brenman in June 2007.  I have shown this video to students, teachers, administrators, school administrators, and government officials at numerous conferences in several countries.  I think the video is powerful in which it helps raise awareness of the issues of globalization in our newly connected world.  The video was then remixed and became a very popular YouTube hit called ‘Did You Know?‘ and attracted over 6.5 million views.

A new/updated version of the Did You Know video, called “Did You Know 4.0?” was released at the Media Convergence Forum run by The Economist in New York City, October 20-21, 2009.  The latest video provides facts and stats focusing on the changing media landscape, including convergence and technology, and was developed in partnership with The Economist.

This 4.0 version was created in the same spirit as the previous versions, but has less of an education focus and more of a business slant.  Some interesting statistics include:

  • Newspaper circulation is down 7 million over the last 25 years.  But in the last 5 years, unique readers of online newspapers are up 30 million.
  • The average American teen sends 2,272 texts per month.
  • 40 million people have been Rickrolled.
  • 95% of all songs downloaded last year weren’t paid for.
  • Wikipedia launched in 2001.  It now features over 13 million articles in more than 200 languages.
  • The mobile device will be the world’s primary connection tool to the Internet in 2020.
  • The computer in your cell phone today is a million times cheaper and a thousand times more powerful and about a hundred thousand times smaller than [the one computer at MIT in 1965].

After watching this video, what are your thoughts? Please feel free to share your thoughts and comments here.

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Social Media, Web 2.0 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Did You Know 4.0

  1. davidsmora says:

    Before I state my comments on the “Did You Know 4.0” entry and corresponding video, I wanted to point out that my former colleagues and I help produced a similar video based on the Shift Happens video (our video was focused on our company’s industry, electricity). If you care to view it (it’s worth it, I promise!), you can watch it below:

    Now that I got that out of the way, I must say I was very impressed with this video. Reading some of the facts in this video really made me think. For example, I think it’s quite amazing that mobile phone will be the primary connection tool to the Internet in 10 short years. Some (including myself) may argue that this transition could occur in less time than that. Another fact I was fascinated by was the transition from traditional based newspapers to electronic based papers. While I’ve never been a fan of reading traditional papers (except for maybe the Student Printz), I didn’t think so many people read their news online.

    This video definitely reinforced my belief that technology’s influence is as strong as it’s ever been. From a young age I was taught to keep up with technology or risk being left behind. I now know whoever gave me that advice (I can’t remember whether it was my parents or a teacher) was absolutely right! There is no doubt in my mind that technology (whether mobile, etc.) will continue to dominate our culture.

    While this “age of technology” may seem beneficial to most people, critics will argue that we will become lazier and perhaps even less intelligent as a result of it. I disagree with this stance because I think most people treat technology with respect. Like anything in life, we must consume things in moderation (I know this is cliché, but it is true). Overall, I think educators, businesspeople and other professionals will balance technological advancements with traditional skills.

    Again, I must say that this video was quite eye opening and entertaining. The statistics concerning American teenagers and text messaging wasn’t that surprising (especially since I average about 1,000 texts a month). However, I did find the Rickrolled and TV statistics to be very humorous. Who knew 40 million people had become subject to such a silly prank! Regardless, this video provided some very valuable information. After watching it, I immediately emailed it to my former colleagues; I’m interested to see how they will react.

  2. Rongfei says:

    This is another “trend” video with intimidating numbers and thought-provoking data indicating how much our society has been changed by technology. The point it is trying to make was not only revealed by the data and facts popped up from that video player, but also was illustrated by the speed of the animated screen-changing – I don’t even have time to finish reading each screen before it quickly jumped into the next. I guess that’s how information is overloaded to us, because information is too much, and we have to read fast, so that we can get as much information as possible.

    Before I look into the content of this blog post, I took the title of the post from another grammatical structure, which put 4.0 as the objectives and the content to be known. I knew that people are starting to discuss web 3.0 after web 2.0 has been recognized and is in its dominance – and now this video is trying to forecast web 4.0. If this is the case, it is certainly unbelievable and unrealistic – but really? As we look back, we almost couldn’t believe how fast our society have been changed and how fast technology has evolved, Adobe released its CS5 version right after I decided to install the 30-days trial version of CS4 in my recently-bought mac book. So even if it is talking about web 4.0, it is not unrealistic according to what the video is actually trying to indicate.

    Therefore we need to think. How can we possibility utilize such sky-rocketing growth of information amount and available technologies? Do we still sit here passively until we are forced to change? Or do we come to research and investigate on how we can fully utilize the resources – I think that is the purpose of the video and videos like that. They are trying to encourage, and enlighten, not to intimidate. A positive and active educator would think how such technologies could be integrated to classroom and how would such trends influence education, just as a successful businessman would think how such technology and trends could be grasped to make more money.

  3. Roslyn Warren says:

    I was really impressed with this video presentation…David I saw your video too and it rocked!! Anyway, an interesting part for me is the fact of how advertising has changed over the past 5 years. Wow! All the normal methods of advertising (tv, radio, newspaper) are pretty much becoming a thing of the past especially the newspaper. And its all happening at an alarming rate. What I like about online methods is that it can happen 24/7/365 and users are LOOKING for you instead of being forced to watch or listen to your ad. Those alarming numbers about the amount of money that President Obama raised in one month versus John McCain in the same month. That’s ridiculous!! Your advertising dollars can take you a loooonnnnng way online surprisingly AND its way cheaper!!! You also reach more people faster.

    I truly can’t believe that cell phones will be the size of blood cells…That may be a bit far-fetched…They have gotten smaller but how can you fit all that into the phone at that size???

    As it relates to education, the same argument reigns true…schools should get on board introducing a safe method to use cell phones, social media, and other innovations to capture and sustain the attention of their students.

  4. 鄭伊真 says:

    這段影片真的是令人印象深刻,其中最關鍵的應該是手機的功能愈來愈強大,同時手機的價格愈來愈平易近人。手機和網路的結合,我們能用手機收發e-mail、看新聞、聽音樂、找地圖、、、,使我們不用被電腦拘束在桌前,隨時隨地享受「行動」的便利與樂趣,漸漸我們愈來愈離不開它了,這個轉變也落實了地球村的概念。只是比較令我不能習慣的是,紙本書籍被電子式閱讀方式取代的趨勢,將再也體驗不了翻書的樂趣和再也聞不到那股書香味了。

  5. 鄭伊真 says:

    這段影片真的是令人印象深刻,其中最關鍵的應該是手機的功能愈來愈強大,同時手機的價格愈來愈平易近人。手機和網路的結合,我們能用手機收發e-mail、看新聞、聽音樂、找地圖、、、,使我們不用被電腦拘束在桌前,隨時隨地享受「行動」的便利與樂趣,漸漸我們愈來愈離不開它了,這個轉變也落實了地球村的概念。只是比較令我不能習慣的是,紙本書籍被電子式閱讀方式取代的趨勢,將再也體驗不了翻書的樂趣和再也聞不到那股書香味了。

  6. 奕嬛 says:

    我認為報章雜誌與平面書籍,不會完全被電子書所取代,最多是產量明顯減少,不至於會完全消失;就拿我來說,相較之下我還是比較喜歡翻翻報紙、閱讀紙本的書籍,手指觸摸著紙張,雙眼注視著印刷字體,讓我有”真正閱讀”的感覺,再者,對於視力也較無傷害(長時間盯著電腦或手機,容易造成眼睛疲勞&近視)。
    手機的功能越健全,當然對我們而言是有益的,由於現在仍處於轉換時期,我們還在適應當中,覺得一切改變得太快;但或許,數據達到某一頂點後,就會自然維持著高度平行且延長的狀態呢?何不以樂觀的角度拭目以待呢?

  7. 奕嬛 says:

    我認為報章雜誌與平面書籍,不會完全被電子書所取代,最多是產量明顯減少,不至於會完全消失;就拿我來說,相較之下我還是比較喜歡翻翻報紙、閱讀紙本的書籍,手指觸摸著紙張,雙眼注視著印刷字體,讓我有”真正閱讀”的感覺,再者,對於視力也較無傷害(長時間盯著電腦或手機,容易造成眼睛疲勞&近視)。
    手機的功能越健全,當然對我們而言是有益的,由於現在仍處於轉換時期,我們還在適應當中,覺得一切改變得太快;但或許,數據達到某一頂點後,就會自然維持著高度平行且延長的狀態呢?何不以樂觀的角度拭目以待呢?

Leave a Reply

