15 MORE Free Guides That Really Teach You USEFUL Stuff

http://twitter.com/#!/MakeUseOf/status/17260671762698241

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Publishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 15 MORE Free Guides That Really Teach You USEFUL Stuff

  1. Linda Bourland-Wynn says:

    MakeUseOf.com, which I discovered through this blog, has become one of my favorite websites. Scrolling through the manual “round up” in this article, I am still encoutering things I have never heard of. I can skip the Facebook privacy article because I turned ignoring friend requests on FB into an art (I just don’t like the clutter or superficial nature). But the next two, Automation Guide for Macs and the Drop Box Guide, I will definitely download. I’ve had my Macbook for a couple of years now, and most of that time was spent in frustration and wishing for a PC. When I started this program however, I began to learn more and more about Macs and things have gotten better. I know though, that I am still not using my mac to its fullest potential- so this automation guide is really valuable to me. As I continue scrolling down, the next two that grab my attention are Office Worker’s Guide to flashdrives and Windows 7 Guide. Both of those will be very helpful to me at my office. The firm ordered a crate of flashdrives with our firm logo on them to be used whenever we need to send data to clients or vendors- obviously some useful promotion. We never use them! No one knows how to and/or people are just in the habit of burning things to disc. Our discs are cheap and we don’t have a label printer so they look unprofessional. It also takes longer to burn a disc that it does a flashdrive. I think I am going to print this manual and put it in everyone’s office as a not-so-subtle hint. The Windows 7 guide will be useful for the same reason. We’ve upgraded to Windows 7 in the last year and all I hear are complaints about it. As I learned from my experience with the Mac- it’s not the system that is the problem, it’s the user. All of the sudden I have a LOT more reading to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

