What is MOOC?

[tweetmeme source=”wordpress” service=”tinyurl.com”]

There has been a lot of buzz about MOOC, the free Massive Open Online Course.  To date, many learners have signed up and participated in this form of super-sized open education course.  The following video does an outstanding job of explaining the concept of MOOC.

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in E-Learning, Open Source and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is MOOC?

  1. Gallayanee says:

    What is MOOC? I decide to read this blog entry because I want to know what MOOC is. Well, I learn from the blog that the MOOC is Massive Open Online Course. I did not learn much about the MOOC from the written part of Dr. Yuen’s blog entry but my eyes got big and my brain got excited from the video. I believe that I got excited about the MOOC because it supports life-long networked learning. Two of my professional goals are 1) to become a life-long learner and 2) to create a learning community. I usually get thrilled when I see people value learning especially lifelong learning.

    I like how the video describing that the MOOC is built for the world of information is everywhere. People can access and share information by using social networking. The video also explains that the MOOC is neither a school nor an online course. It is a way to connect and collaborate as well as a way to engaging in the learning process. I can’t help but smiling while I image what learning will be like through the MOOC. I agree with Dr. Yuen about how the video did an excellent job explaining MOOC’s concept because after I finished watching the video I am sold to the MOOC concept.

    I would love to be part of MOOC in terms of contributing and learning. However, I have hard time to find more information though I visited the website provided in Dr. Yuen’s Blog. There is not a lot of information provided in http://mooc.net. I will try to search more from the internet. In addition, I am welcome any information others can give me through the comments from this blog.

  2. 在美國,數位開放式課程中就以麻省理工學院開放式課程(MIT’s OpenCourseWare,簡稱MITOCW)受到各方矚目。
    麻省理工學院的「開放式課程網頁」:
    • 是麻省理工學院教材的網路版。
    • 不需要任何註冊。
    • 並非是給予學位或是證照的網站。
    • 並不提供麻省理工學院入學申請。』
    麻省理工學院開放式課程計劃是以網站為架構,將學院內許多教授的教學內容大規模地進行開放分享的計劃,其主要目的在於資源共享,希望能提供全世界的教師、學生與自學者免費、搜尋麻省理工學院各課程教材的機會,不必因為無法親自來麻省理工學院而喪失這寶貴的學習機會。
    麻省理工學院開放式課程網頁在2001年4月首次宣布,而證明概念可行的先導網站則是在2002年9月公開,其課程內容琳琅滿目,包括六大學院共三十多個領域,目前已開放至少七百門以上課程,此計劃讓使用者可以自由觀看下載各課程的課程大綱、上課筆記和教學行事曆,其中還有許多課程包含了影音檔案、習題與考題及其解答,另有延伸閱讀清單等附加部分。麻省理工學院並聲明開放式課程網頁上的課程教材可以被任何人使用。前提只是這些資料必須應用在非商業化目的,如果該資料被再出版或是再複製於網頁上,必須要註明原作者,而且使用和修改者必須和麻省理工學院開放式課程網頁一樣的與人共享這些資料。
    話雖如此,我個人認為並非所有的課程都適合開放,畢竟課程內容的設計具有個人的私密性與擁有權。以下列出幾個參考網站:
    1. 麻省理工學院開放課程網頁
    http://ocw.mit.edu/index.html
    2. 麻省理工學院「開放式課程網頁」中文翻譯計畫
    http://www.twocw.net/index.htm
    3. 「開放原始碼理念的開放式課程原型計畫」
    http://ocw.2share.net/
    4. 麻省理工學院開放式課程系統留言版
    http://www.lucifer.hoolan.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=13
    5. 開放式課程學習社群
    http://olc.twocw.org/

Leave a Reply

