Nokia Mixed Reality – Nokia World

[tweetmeme source=”wordpress” service=”tinyurl.com”]

An interesting concept video produced by Nokia.  According to Nokia, the concept shown in the video allows users to experience immersion and effortless navigation in new ways. New types of interactions involve near-to-eye displays, gaze direction tracking, 3D audio, 3D video, gesture and touch. Through these new types of social linkages people will be connected in innovative ways between the physical and digital worlds. Cool idea.  However, when will such technology become available since the video was produced one and half years ago?

 

About Steve Yuen

I am a Professor Emeritus of Instructional Technology and Design at The University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States.
This entry was posted in Future Technology, Mobile Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nokia Mixed Reality – Nokia World

  1. Gallayanee says:

    I learned about augmented reality (AR) from Dr. Yuen’s blog and presentation last week. I was amazed about new technology that can enhance education in all levels. After Dr. Yuen’s presentation on AR, I think about how much AR will change education regarding interaction, engagement, and understanding. In my opinion, AR will make reading materials become more interactive and engaging. Students will easily grasp class concept through AR. However, I agree with Dr. Yuen that it may take time for AR to become more popular in education.

    This week, I learned something new from Dr. Yuen’s blog about a technology produced by Nokia called “mixed reality”. I believe it is called mixed reality because it connects physical and digital worlds together through a set of gadgets. Even though I know that this technology is not designed specifically for education purpose, I can’t help but thinking about how much this technology will enhance teaching and learning. I believe that this new types of interactions using “near-to-eye displays, gaze direction tracking, 3D audio, 3D video, gesture and touch” will enhance both mobile and e-learning. While watching the video, I was thinking about how I can integrate this technology in my class. I imagine my students will never miss my email or message because they can see it right in front of them. I also envision my students watching video podcasts or reading class blogs or materials online. In addition, I visualize that Nokia may launch applications specifically design for educational purpose. Nokia mixed reality can enhance classroom community in much more innovative ways.

    Anyway, I got excited when I am thinking about the benefits students will receive when teachers integrate both AR and mixed reality in classroom.

  2. keenon wynn says:

    This article and video is very similar to “a day made of glass” which I thought was very cool! I had heard about these virtual concepts a few years ago then it just seem to fall by the wayside. Just like the day made of glass I have been looking forward to this type of technology since I was a kid. I also have wondered when is this going to become a reality. The applications for this type of technology in education could be limitless. In the case of a student who is physically challenged and does not have the use of his arms this type of technology could help him overcome his challenges.

    As for me I just think this type of tech is just plain cool. This is straight out of a comic book. The near to eye interaction would make this tech easy to use especially for someone who is not that tech savvy. I am also impressed with the way it can be linked to other mobile devices; it is not confined to just eye ware. It all looks very streamlined so I am wondering about cost. Usually new tech can be pretty expensive does the reduction in hardware mean a cut in cost? Will this be available to all or just a few?

Leave a Reply

